The Institute is advised by a Faculty Advisory Committee drawn from across the university, and by a Board of Visitors composed of distinguished Carolina alumni and friends with extensive environmental experience.

Reginald Ronald Holley (Chair)
The Longmire Group, LLC
Southport, NC

Nancy Hanes White (Vice Chair)
Raleigh, NC

Philip Blumenthal
Executive Director
Blumenthal Foundation
Charlotte, NC

Cari Boyce
Senior Vice President, Stakeholder Strategy; and President, Duke Energy Foundation
Duke Energy Corporation

Kirk Bradley
Chairman, President, and CEO
Lee-Moore Oil Company
Sanford, NC

F. Bryan Brice, Jr.
Attorney at Law
The Law Offices of F. Bryan Brice, Jr.
Raleigh, NC

Ann Colley
Executive Director and Vice President
The Moore Charitable Foundation
New York, NY

Christopher J. Daggett
President and CEO
Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation
Morristown, NJ

Erin Danford
Environmental Science, Major; Geography, Minor
UNC-Chapel Hill Class of 2019
Waxhaw, North Carolina

Thomas F. Darden
Managing Director
Cherokee Investment Partners
Raleigh, NC

Bill Eichbaum
Vice President of Marine and Arctic Policy and U.S. Government Relations
World Wildlife Fund
Washington, D.C.

Charles T. Hagan III
Hagan Davis Mangum Barrett Langley & Hale, PLLC
Greensboro, NC

William E. Hollan, Jr.
Hollan Properties, LLC
Winston Salem, NC

G. Allen Ives, III
Turnpike Properties, LLC
Slick Enterprises, Inc.
Rocky Mount, NC

James Y. Kerr II
Executive Vice President General Counsel and Chief Compliance Office
Southern Company
Atlanta, GA

Steve Levitas (Ex-Officio, Chair Emeritus)
Raleigh, NC

Chuck McGrady
NC House of Representatives
Hendersonville, NC

Todd Miller
North Carolina Coastal Federation
Ocean, NC

Natalie Murdock
Principle and Chief Strategist
Murdock Anderson Consulting
Raleigh, NC

Michael Piehler (Ex-Officio)
Institute for the Environment
Professor of Marine Sciences and Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Chapel Hill, NC

William A. Pizer
Sanford School of Public Policy
Faculty Fellow
Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions – Duke University

John Preyer
President and COO
Restoration Systems, LLC
Raleigh, NC

Douglas Rader
Chief Oceans Scientist
Environmental Defense Fund
Raleigh, NC

J. Adam Riggsbee
Riverbank Ecosystems
Austin, TX

David H. Ruffin
Credit Risk Management
Raleigh, NC

Christopher Glenn Sawyer (Chair Emeritus)
Alston & Bird, L.L.P.
Atlanta, GA

Frances Seymour
Senior Fellow
Center for Global Development
Washington, D.C.

Chandra Taylor
Senior Attorney
Southern Environmental Law Center
Chapel Hill, NC