Skip to main content

Our Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion
The Institute for the Environment embraces the University’s commitment to diversity as a critical element of academic excellence. We also support the vision of the Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs to build and sustain an inclusive campus community and to foster a welcoming climate that values and respects all members of the University community.


Director

Michael Piehler

Michael F. Piehler

Director, UNC Institute for the Environment; Chief Sustainability Officer and Special Assistant to the Chancellor for Sustainability, UNC Chapel-Hill
mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-6026

Faculty + Staff

Liz Adams

Liz Adams

Research Associate
lizadams@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-0518
IE Logo

Corey Adams

Internship Coordinator, Outer Banks Field Site
ceadams@csi.northcarolina.edu
Pete Andrews

Richard N. L. (Pete) Andrews

Faculty Fellow, Institute for the Environment; Professor Emeritus, Department of Public Policy
pete.andrews@unc.edu
(919) 843-3385
Sarav Arunachalam

Sarav Arunachalam

Deputy Director, Institute for the Environment; Director, Center for Environmental Modeling for Policy Development
sarav@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-2126
BenDor

Todd BenDor

Distinguished Professor of Sustainable Community Design
Phil Berke

Philip Berke

Director, Center for Resilient Communities and Environment
pberke@email.unc.edu
IE Logo

Denene Blackwood

Field Site Assistant, Morehead City Field Site; Research Analyst, Institute of Marine Sciences
adb@med.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
Abigail Brewer

Abigail Brewer

Communications and Engagement Specialist, Sustainable Carolina
Abigail.Brewer@unc.edu
Greg Characklis

Gregory W. Characklis

Director, Center on Financial Risk in Environmental Systems; Wiliam R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
charack@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5545
Bin Cheng

Bin Cheng

Post-Doctoral Research Associate
bincheng@unc.edu
Jason Ching

Jason Ching

Senior Research Fellow
Susan Cohen

Susan Cohen

Associate Director
susanac@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9927
IE Logo

Praful Dodda

Graduate Research Assistant
praful@live.unc.edu
IE Logo

Lindsay Dubbs

Co-Director, Outer Banks Field Site; Research Associate Professor
dubbs@email.unc.edu
(252) 475-3663
IE Logo

Christos Efstathiou

Post-Doc Research Associate
chef@email.unc.edu
Melanie Elliott

Melanie Elliott

Sustainability Analyst, Sustainable Carolina
melaniee@unc.edu
(919) 966-2224
Gregory Gangi

Greg Gangi

Associate Director for Clean Technology and Innovation; Teaching Professor
ggangi@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-6280
Andrew George

Andrew George

Community Engagement Coordinator; Lecturer, Environment, Ecology and Energy Program
andrewg@unc.edu
(919) 966-7839
Neasha Graves

Neasha Graves

Environmental Health Outreach Manager
neasha_graves@unc.edu
(919) 966-3746
Kathleen Gray

Kathleen M. Gray

Director, Center for Public Engagement with Science; Associate Director for Outreach and Public Service and Research Associate Professor
kgray@unc.edu
(919) 966-9799
Dana Haine

Dana Brown Haine

K-12 Science Education Manager
dhaine@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5735
Jenna Hartley

Jenna Hartley

Post-doctoral Research Associate
jennamh@unc.edu
Regina Hill

Regina Hill

Director of Development
regina_hill@unc.edu
(919) 843-2323
Hopkins

Alex Hopkins

Research Associate
alexrhop@unc.edu
Megan Hughes

Megan Hoert Hughes

STEM Diversity Program Manager and Environmental Health Educator
meganhughes@unc.edu
(919) 966-2463
Mitierra Johnson

Mitierra Johnson

Environmental Health Research Assistant
jmitierr@unc.edu
IE Logo

Rich Kamens

Director, Thailand Field Site
kamens@unc.edu
(919) 966-5452
IE Logo

Hyeongseok “Darby” Kim

Graduate Research Assistant
kkkghs@unc.edu
Megan Rodgers

Megan Rodgers Lane

Public Science and Internship Coordinator
megan.lane@unc.edu
(919) 966-7238
IE Logo

David McNelis

Research Professor Emeritus
mcnelis@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9923
Mullin

Peggy Mullin

Research Technician
pegmull@live.unc.edu
Brian Naess

Brian Naess

GIS Analyst and Lecturer
naess@unc.edu
(919) 966-9925
Rachel Noble

Rachel Noble

Assistant Director, Morehead City Field Site
rtnoble@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext.150

Anna Norcutt Preuss

Environmental Health Research Assistant
anna.norcuttpreuss@unc.edu
IE Logo

Gavendra Pandey

Post-Doc Research Associate
gavendra@email.unc.edu
Parkins

Grant Parkins

Watershed Education Coordinator
parkins@unc.edu
(919) 966-9802
Rada Petric

Rada Petric

Director, Highlands Field Site
rpetric@unc.edu
Michael Piehler

Michael F. Piehler

Director, UNC Institute for the Environment; Chief Sustainability Officer and Special Assistant to the Chancellor for Sustainability, UNC Chapel-Hill
mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-6026
Matthew Romm

Matthew Romm

Student Research Assistant
mromm@unc.edu
Johanna Rosman

Johanna H. Rosman

Associate Director, Morehead City Field Site
jrosman@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
IE Logo

Catherine Seppanen

Research Associate
cseppan@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-2249
Cindy Shea

Cindy Shea

Sustainability Director, Sustainable Carolina
cpshea@fac.unc.edu
Manish

Manish Soni

Post-Doctoral Research Associate
manisoni@unc.edu
IE Logo

Mitch Spence

Business Services Coordinator
spence83@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-8593
IE Logo

Farzaneh Taksibi

Graduate Research Assistant
ftaksibi@unc.edu
IE Logo

Huy Tran

Research Associate
tranhuy@email.unc.edu
Victoria Triana

Victoria Triana

Environmental Research Assistant
vtriana@live.unc.edu
(919) 966-1339
Erin Valentine

Erin Valentine

Project Coordinator, Center for Environmental Modeling for Policy Development
evalentine@unc.edu
(919) 966-1352
Steve Wall

Steve Wall

Policy Research Associate
swall@email.unc.edu
(919) 445-0240
IE Logo

Gary Wein

Lecturer
gwein@email.unc.edu
(828) 787-1712
Emily Williams

Emily Williams

Director of Communications
emilywilliams@unc.edu
(919) 962-0965
IE Logo

Kiersten Wolf Williams

Public Communications Specialist
kwilliams@unc.edu
(917) 873-3266
Sarah Yelton

Sarah Yelton

Environmental Education and Citizen Science Program Manager
sarah.yelton@unc.edu
(919) 966-0895