Skip to main content

Our Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion
The Institute for the Environment embraces the University’s commitment to diversity as a critical element of academic excellence. We also support the vision of the Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs to build and sustain an inclusive campus community and to foster a welcoming climate that values and respects all members of the University community.


Director

Michael Piehler

Michael F. Piehler

Director, UNC Institute for the Environment
mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-6026

Faculty + Staff

Liz Adams

Liz Adams

Research Associate
lizadams@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-0518
IE Logo

Corey Adams

Internship Coordinator, Outer Banks Field Site
ceadams@csi.northcarolina.edu
Pete Andrews

Richard N. L. (Pete) Andrews

Faculty Fellow, Institute for the Environment; Professor Emeritus, Department of Public Policy
pete.andrews@unc.edu
(919) 843-3385
IE Logo

Calvin Arter

Graduate Research Assistant
arterca@live.unc.edu
Sarav Arunachalam

Sarav Arunachalam

Deputy Director; Research Professor
sarav@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-2126
BH Baek

B.H. Baek

Research Assistant Professor
bbaek@unc.edu
(919) 966-2224
Phil Berke

Philip Berke

Director, Center for Resilient Communities and Environment
pberke@email.unc.edu
Frank Binkowski

Frank Binkowski

Research Professor
frank_binkowski@unc.edu
(919) 966-2231
IE Logo

Denene Blackwood

Field Site Assistant, Morehead City Field Site; Research Analyst, Institute of Marine Sciences
adb@med.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841

Stephanie Caddell

Environmental Research Assistant
smc2002@email.unc.edu
IE Logo

Charles Chang

Research Associate
changsk@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5736
Greg Characklis

Gregory W. Characklis

Director, Center on Financial Risk in Environmental Systems; Wiliam R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
charack@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5545
Jason Ching

Jason Ching

Senior Research Fellow
Susan Cohen

Susan Cohen

Associate Director
susanac@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9927
Jim Costa

Jim Costa

Director, Highlands Field Site
costa@email.wcu.edu
(828) 526-2602
IE Logo

Praful Dodda

Graduate Research Assistant
praful@live.unc.edu

Chloe Donohoe

Graduate Student Assistant
cdon@email.unc.edu
IE Logo

Lindsay Dubbs

Co-Director, Outer Banks Field Site; Research Associate Professor
dubbs@email.unc.edu
(252) 475-3663
IE Logo

Christos Efstathiou

Post-Doc Research Associate
chef@email.unc.edu

Hailey Galit

Environmental Research Assistant
hrgalit@live.unc.edu
Gregory Gangi

Greg Gangi

Associate Director for Clean Technology and Innovation; Teaching Professor
ggangi@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-9805
Andrew George

Andrew George

Community Engagement Coordinator; Lecturer, Environment, Ecology and Energy Program
andrewg@unc.edu
(919) 966-7839
Neasha Graves

Neasha Graves

Environmental Health Outreach Manager
neasha_graves@unc.edu
(919) 966-3746
Kathleen Gray

Kathleen M. Gray

Director, Center for Public Engagement with Science; Associate Director for Outreach and Public Service and Research Associate Professor
kgray@unc.edu
(919) 966-9799
Dana Haine

Dana Brown Haine

K-12 Science Education Manager
dhaine@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5735
Adel Hanna

Adel Hanna

Director, Center for Environmental Modeling for Policy Development; Research Professor
ahanna@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-1352
Regina Hill

Regina Hill

Director of Development
regina_hill@unc.edu
(919) 843-2323
Megan Hughes

Megan Hoert Hughes

STEM Diversity Program Manager and Environmental Health Educator
meganhughes@unc.edu
(919) 966-2463
IE Logo

Rich Kamens

Director, Thailand Field Site
kamens@unc.edu
(919) 966-5452
IE Logo

Andrew Keeler

Co-Director, Outer Banks Field Site
agkeeler@csi.northcarolina.edu
(252) 475-3663
IE Logo

Ramarao Mandavilli

Post-Doc Research Associate
ramarao@email.unc.edu
IE Logo

David McNelis

Research Professor Emeritus
mcnelis@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9923
Mary Meyer

Mary Meyer

Elementary Educational Consultant
mmeyer@unc.edu
Chowdhury Moniruzzaman

Chowdhury “Monir” Moniruzzaman

Post Doctoral Research Associate
moniruz@unc.edu
(919) 445-8318

Dylan Morgan

Environmental Research Assistant
dylanmor@live.unc.edu
IE Logo

Peggy Mullin

Research Technician
pegmull@live.unc.edu
Brian Naess

Brian Naess

GIS Analyst and Lecturer
naess@unc.edu
(919) 966-9925
Rachel Noble

Rachel Noble

Director, Morehead City Field Site
rtnoble@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext.150
IE Logo

Gavendra Pandey

Post-Doc Research Associate
gavendra@email.unc.edu
Parkins

Grant Parkins

Watershed Education Coordinator
parkins@unc.edu
(919) 966-9802
Michael Piehler

Michael F. Piehler

Director, UNC Institute for the Environment
mpiehler@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-6026
Reka

Srinivas Reka

Post-Doctoral Research Associate
ssri@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9922
Megan Rodgers

Megan Rodgers

Public Science and Internship Coordinator
megan.rodgers@unc.edu
(919) 966-7238
Johanna Rosman

Johanna H. Rosman

Associate Director, Morehead City Field Site
jrosman@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841
David Salvesen

David Salvesen

Director, Sustainable Triangle Field Site; Research Associate
salvesen@unc.edu
(919) 966-2134

Adelle Schubarg

Environmental Research Assistant
adelles@live.unc.edu
IE Logo

Catherine Seppanen

Research Associate
cseppan@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-2249
IE Logo

Komal Shukla

Post-Doc Research Associate
komalsh@email.unc.edu
IE Logo

Mitch Spence

Business Services Coordinator
spence83@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-8593

Megan Suggs

Superfund Research Program Communications Fellow
megsug@email.unc.edu
Fleming Talton

Fleming Talton

Research Associate
ftalton@unc.edu
Victoria Triana

Victoria Triana

Environmental Research Assistant
vtriana@live.unc.edu
(919) 966-1339

Leticia Tuset

Undergraduate Research Assistant
leticia5@live.unc.edu
IE Logo

Alex Valencia

Graduate Research Assistant
valenal@email.unc.edu
Steve Wall

Steve Wall

Policy Research Associate
swall@email.unc.edu
(919) 445-0240
IE Logo

Gary Wein

Lecturer
gwein@email.unc.edu
(828) 787-1712
IE Logo

Kiersten Williams

Project Manager
kwilliams@unc.edu
(919) 966-2245
Emily Williams

Emily Williams

Director of Community and University Relations
emilywilliams@unc.edu
(919) 962-0965
Dongmei Yang

Dongmei Yang

Research Associate
dyang@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0791
Sarah Yelton

Sarah Yelton

Environmental Education and Citizen Science Program Manager
sarah.yelton@unc.edu
(919) 966-0895