Skip to main content

Our Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion
The Institute for the Environment embraces the University’s commitment to diversity as a critical element of academic excellence. We also support the vision of the Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs to build and sustain an inclusive campus community and to foster a welcoming climate that values and respects all members of the University community.


Michael F. Piehler

Director, UNC Institute for the Environment
(919) 966-6026

Faculty + Staff

Liz Adams

Research Associate
(919) 843-0518

Corey Adams

Internship Coordinator, Outer Banks Field Site

Richard N. L. (Pete) Andrews

Faculty Fellow, Institute for the Environment; Professor Emeritus, Department of Public Policy
(919) 843-3385

Calvin Arter

Graduate Research Assistant

Sarav Arunachalam

Deputy Director; Research Professor
(919) 966-2126

B.H. Baek

Research Assistant Professor
(919) 966-2224

Philip Berke

Director, Center for Resilient Communities and Environment

Frank Binkowski

Research Professor
(919) 966-2231

Denene Blackwood

Field Site Assistant, Morehead City Field Site; Research Analyst, Institute of Marine Sciences
(252) 726-6841

Charles Chang

Research Associate
(919) 843-5736

Gregory W. Characklis

Director, Center on Financial Risk in Environmental Systems; Wiliam R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
(919) 843-5545

Jason Ching

Senior Research Fellow

Susan Cohen

Associate Director
(919) 966-9927

Jim Costa

Director, Highlands Field Site
(828) 526-2602

Praful Dodda

Graduate Research Assistant

Lindsay Dubbs

Co-Director, Outer Banks Field Site; Research Associate Professor
(252) 475-3663

Greg Gangi

Associate Director for Clean Technology and Innovation; Teaching Professor
(919) 962-9805

Andrew George

Community Engagement Coordinator; Lecturer, Environment, Ecology and Energy Program
(919) 966-7839

Neasha Graves

Environmental Health Outreach Manager
(919) 966-3746

Kathleen M. Gray

Director, Center for Public Engagement with Science; Associate Director for Outreach and Public Service and Research Associate Professor
(919) 966-9799

Dana Brown Haine

K-12 Science Education Manager
(919) 843-5735

Adel Hanna

Director, Center for Environmental Modeling for Policy Development; Research Professor
(919) 966-1352

Regina Hill

Director of Development
(919) 843-2323

Megan Hoert Hughes

STEM Diversity Program Manager and Environmental Health Educator
(919) 966-2463

Rich Kamens

Director, Thailand Field Site
(919) 966-5452

Andrew Keeler

Co-Director, Outer Banks Field Site
(252) 475-3663

Ramarao Mandavilli

Post-Doc Research Associate

David McNelis

Research Professor Emeritus
(919) 966-9923

Mary Meyer

Elementary Educational Consultant

Chowdhury “Monir” Moniruzzaman

Post Doctoral Research Associate
(919) 445-8318

Brian Naess

GIS Analyst and Lecturer
(919) 966-9925

Rachel Noble

Director, Morehead City Field Site
(252) 726-6841, ext.150

Gavendra Pandey

Post-Doc Research Associate

Grant Parkins

Watershed Education Coordinator
(919) 966-9802

Michael F. Piehler

Director, UNC Institute for the Environment
(919) 966-6026

Srinivas Reka

Post-Doctoral Research Associate
(919) 966-9922

Megan Rodgers

Public Science and Internship Coordinator
(919) 966-7238

Johanna H. Rosman

Associate Director, Morehead City Field Site
(252) 726-6841

David Salvesen

Director, Sustainable Triangle Field Site; Research Associate
(919) 966-2134

Catherine Seppanen

Research Associate
(919) 966-2249

Komal Shukla

Post-Doc Research Associate

Mitch Spence

Business Services Coordinator
(919) 843-8593

Fleming Talton

Research Associate

Kurt Thurber

Proposal Manager and Technical Editor
(919) 966-2069

Victoria Triana

Environmental Research Assistant
(919) 966-1339

Alex Valencia

Graduate Research Assistant

Steve Wall

Policy Research Associate
(919) 445-0240

Gary Wein

(828) 787-1712

Kiersten Williams

Project Manager
(919) 966-2245

Emily Williams

Director of Community and University Relations
(919) 962-0965

Dongmei Yang

Research Associate
(919) 962-0791

Sarah Yelton

Environmental Education and Citizen Science Program Manager
(919) 966-0895