Skip to main content
two people working in a lab

About our Experts

The Carolina environmental expert listing consists of all researchers at UNC-Chapel Hill engaged in educational, research and/or community engagement activities related to environmental science and studies. They collectively make up the interdisciplinary community of environmental scholars on campus, providing a group to which students, faculty, administrators and outside organizations can turn to for expertise in environmental education, research and/or community engagement. Learn more about Carolina’s Environmental Programs.

Submit an Expert

Keyword Search

Nikhil Kaza

nkaza@unc.edu
Professor
Department of City and Regional Planning

Expertise:

land use, environmental planning


Samir Kelada

samir_kelada@med.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Genetics

Expertise:

genetics, genomics of allergic airway disease


Jordan Kern

jdkern@email.unc.edu
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

energy, water, environment


Joel Kingsolver

jgking@bio.unc.edu
Kenan Distinguished Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

environmental physiology, functional morphology, population ecology and evolution


Eric Kirby

ekirby@unc.edu
Chair
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

tectonic geomorphology


Scott Kirsch

kirsch@email.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

historical, cultural, and political geography, science studies, social theory


Noah Kittner

kittner@unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

energy systems, low-carbon development, human health


Alfred Kleinhammes

kleinham@physics.unc.edu
Research Professor
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Expertise:

physics


Chip Konrad

konrad@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

climatology, meteorology, heavy precipitation, tornadoes, hurricanes, cold air outbreaks, heat waves, winter weather


Michael Kunz

mkunz@unc.edu
Director of Conservation Programs
North Carolina Botanical Garden

Expertise:

biodiversity, restoration


Megan Rodgers Lane

megan.lane@unc.edu
Lecturer
Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Public Science and Internship Coordinator
UNC Institute for the Environment's Center for Public Engagement with Science

Expertise:

experiential education, community outreach/engagement, research translation, citizen/community science, mapping/spatial analysis, internship management, program evaluation


Jonathan M. Lees

jonathan.lees@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

seismology, volcanology


Frank Leibfarth

frankl@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry

Expertise:

biomaterials, degradable, plastics, polymer, waste, water, PFAS


David Leith

david_leith@unc.edu
Professor Emeritus
Department of Environment Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

aerosol physics and the engineering control of airborne pollutants


Christian C. Lentz

cclentz@email.unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

development, state formation, nationalism, nature-society relations, agrarian studies, Southeast Asia


Paul Leslie

pwleslie@unc.edu
Pardue Distinguished Professor
Department of Anthropology

Expertise:

biological anthropology, human ecology, demography, population genetics, reproduction, East Africa


T. William Lester

twlester@email.unc.edu
Research Professor
Department of City and Regional Planning

Expertise:

urban and regional economic development, role of social institutions and policy interventions in reducing income inequality and promoting balanced economic growth, policy evaluation and impact analysis, environmental solutions to generate meaningful employment opportunities in "green economy"


Jun Liang

liangj@email.unc.edu
Teaching Associate Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

GIS, programming, cartography, urban modeling, remote sensing


Tom Linden

linden@unc.edu
Glaxo Wellcome Distinguished Professor of Medical Journalism
Hussman School of Journalism and Media

Expertise:

medical and science journalism, environmental television journalism


Niels Lindquist

nlindquist@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

physical and biology factors controlling the distribution, health and resilience of oyster-based habitats in North Carolina’s highly diverse estuarine environments, oyster ecosystem ecology