Skip to main content
two people working in a lab

About our Experts

The Carolina environmental expert listing consists of all researchers at UNC-Chapel Hill engaged in educational, research and/or community engagement activities related to environmental science and studies. They collectively make up the interdisciplinary community of environmental scholars on campus, providing a group to which students, faculty, administrators and outside organizations can turn to for expertise in environmental education, research and/or community engagement. Learn more about Carolina’s Environmental Programs.

Submit an Expert

Keyword Search

Chris Wedding

chris.wedding@ironoak.energy
Professor of the Practice, Strategy & Entrepreneurship
Kenan-Flagler Business School

Expertise:

finance, business strategy and innovation in green real estate and clean energy, including solar, energy storage and electric vehicles


Howard Weinberg

howard_weinberg@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

occurrence, fate, and transport of pollutants, environmental monitoring, drinking water quality, methods for detection of micropollutants, drinking water chemistry and treatment


Colin West

ctw@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology

Expertise:

research, teaching, service, human ecology, GIS, remote sensing


Jason West

JASONWEST@UNC.EDU
Director of Graduate Studies (MS, MSPH, PhD)
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

research, teaching, service, climate change, air pollution, atmospheric modeling, atmospheric chemistry, global health, energy, environmental policy, integrated assessment


Richard Whisnant

richard_whisnant@unc.edu
Gladys Hall Coates Professor of Public Law and Policy
School of Government

Expertise:

administrative law, environmental protection, natural resource management, soil and water conservation, solid waste management, water resources, environmental law and policy


Brian White

bwhite@unc.edu
Adjunct Research Associate Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

environmental fluid dynamics


Peter White

peter.white@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

research, teaching, service, plant ecology, conservation, biodiversity


Thomas Whitmore

whitmore@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

cultural ecology, Latin America, population


Eric Whitsel

eric_whitsel@unc.edu
Adjunct Professor
Department of Medicine

Professor
Department of Epidemiology

Expertise:

electrocardiography, air pollution, GIS, meta-analysis


Andrew Whittemore

awhittem@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of City and Regional Planning

Expertise:

land use, environmental planning, urban form and design, planning history and theory, zoning, US


Dale Whittington

dale_whittington@unc.edu
Professor
Department of City and Regional Planning

Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

environmental economics, water and sanitation, vaccine policy, economic benefits of vaccines


R. Haven Wiley

haven_wiley@unc.edu
Professor Emeritus
Department of Biology

Expertise:

behavioral ecology of vertebrates, avian social behavior, tropical birds


Rachel Willis

rachel.willis@unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of American Studies

Expertise:

research, teaching, service, planning for port communities for climate change, water impacts of climate change, global impacts on American waters, rising waters, built environment, global labor markets, foodsheds, watersheds, water quality


Erika Wise

ekwise@email.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

research, teaching, service, outreach, climatology, hydrology, dendrochronology


Courtney Woods

courtney.woods@gmail.com
MPH Program Director
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Associate Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

teaching, community engagement, global environmental health, health equity, environmental justice


Yue Wu

yuewu@physics.unc.edu
Kenan Distinguished Professor
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Expertise:

hydrogen storage measurements and analysis, physics and chemistry of adsorption in nanomaterials, materials synthesis and measurements for solar energy conversion, oil in porous media


Yu Wu

yuwu5@unc.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Carolina Population Center

Expertise:

environment and development, energy access and energy use, deforestation and land use, environmental policy and impact evaluation, ecosystem services and non-market valuation


Andrew Yates

ajyates@email.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Economics

Expertise:

environmental economics, design of pollution permit markets


Karin Yeatts

karin_yeatts@unc.edu
MPH Concentration Lead, Applied Epidemiology
Department of Epidemiology

Associate Professor
Department of Epidemiology

Expertise:

epidemiology, air pollution, climate-change related health effects, respiratory disease


Sarah Yelton

sarah.yelton@unc.edu
Environmental Education and Citizen Science Program Manager
UNC Institute for the Environment's Center for Public Engagement with Science

Expertise:

outdoor science learning, environmental education, science communication, pathways into STEM, research translation, climate resilience, teacher professional development, youth science enrichment