Skip to main content
two people working in a lab

About our Experts

The Carolina environmental expert listing consists of all researchers at UNC-Chapel Hill engaged in educational, research and/or community engagement activities related to environmental science and studies. They collectively make up the interdisciplinary community of environmental scholars on campus, providing a group to which students, faculty, administrators and outside organizations can turn to for expertise in environmental education, research and/or community engagement. Learn more about Carolina’s Environmental Programs.

Submit an Expert

Keyword Search

Eric Thomas

ethomas@sog.unc.edu
Assistant Director of Development Finance Initiative
School of Government

Expertise:

development finance, sustainable community design, city and regional planning


Allie Thomas

alainna@email.unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of City and Regional Planning

Expertise:

sustainable transportation in developing economies such as China, electric bicycles and family travel


Nancy Thomas

nancy_thomas@med.unc.edu
Irene & Robert Alan Briggaman Distinguished Professor
Department of Dermatology

Expertise:

molecular carcinogenesis, environmental toxicology, molecular epidemiology of melanomas, research translation, biomarkers


David Threadgill

david_threadgill@med.unc.edu
Adjunct professor
Department of Genetics

Expertise:

genetics, cancer genetics


BJ Tipton

btipton@fac.unc.edu
Solid Waste Manager
Office of Waste Reduction and Recycling

Expertise:

waste reduction, recycling, recycle, facilities, trash disposal, reuse


Melissa Troester

troester@email.unc.edu
Director
UNC Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility

Research Professor
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Professor
Department of Epidemiology

Expertise:

breast tissue biology, breast tissue alterations during carcinogenesis


Caroline Tucker

carolinetucker@unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

community ecology, quantifying biodiversity, phylogenetic and functional diversity, species interactions and coexistence in communities, intraspecific variation


Barbara Turpin

bjturpin@email.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

human exposures, effects of airborne particles from precursor emissions


Gabriela Valdivia

valdivia@email.unc.edu
Assistant Dean
Honors Carolina

William C. Friday Distinguished Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

research, teaching, political ecology, environmental justice, resource governance


L├ęda Van Doren

leda.vandoren@unc.edu
Teaching Assistant Professor
Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Expertise:

energy, environmental engineering


David van Duin

vanduin@med.unc.edu
Director
Immunocompromised Host Infectious Diseases Section

Professor of Medicine
School of Medicine

Expertise:

infections in immunocompromised hosts gram-negative bacterial resistance


Julie Jacobson Vann

jvann@email.unc.edu
Clinical Associate Professor
School of Nursing

Expertise:

sustainability, nursing, vaccination, health care financing


William Vizuete

vizuete@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

air quality modeling, atmospheric chemistry


Steve Wall

swall@email.unc.edu
Outreach Liaison
North Carolina Collaboratory

Policy Research Associate
UNC Institute for the Environment

Expertise:

environmental policy, science communication, legislative and regulatory process


Steve Walsh

swalsh@email.unc.edu
Research Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Founding Emeritus Director
Center for Galapagos Studies

Lyle V. Jones Distinguished Emeritus Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

research, teaching, outreach, island ecosystems, human-environment interactions, landscape ecology, geospatial data and technologies, spatial simulation modeling, satellite remote sensing, GIS


Troy Walton

twalt@unc.edu
Senior Research Associate
Carolina Drone Lab

Expertise:

drones, unoccupied Aircraft systems, classification, remote sensing, aerial photography, geographic information systems, GIS


Rick Warner

crwarner@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of English and Comparative Literature

Expertise:

environmental studies


Scott Warren

scw@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry

Expertise:

2D materials, energy storage, solar energy, nanoelectronics


Alan Weakley

weakley@unc.edu
Director
UNC Herbarium

Adjunct Associate Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

plant systematics, floristics, biogeography, conservation biology, bioinformatics, plant community ecologist


David Weber

dweber1@email.unc.edu
Medical Director
Department of Infection Prevention, UNC Medical Center

Associate Chief Medical Officer
UNC Medical Center

Charles Addison and Elizabeth Ann Sanders Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
School of Medicine

Professor
Department of Epidemiology

Expertise:

air and water quality effects on health