Skip to main content
two people working in a lab

About our Experts

The Carolina environmental expert listing consists of all researchers at UNC-Chapel Hill engaged in educational, research and/or community engagement activities related to environmental science and studies. They collectively make up the interdisciplinary community of environmental scholars on campus, providing a group to which students, faculty, administrators and outside organizations can turn to for expertise in environmental education, research and/or community engagement. Learn more about Carolina’s Environmental Programs.

Submit an Expert

Keyword Search

Edward Samulski

et@unc.edu
Professor Emeritus
Department of Applied Physical Sciences

Expertise:

elastic networks and sheared polymer melts, "RheoNMR," biaxial nematic, nanostructures for increased photo voltaic efficiencies


Robert Sandler

rsandler@med.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Epidemiology

Director
Center for Gastrointestinal Biology and Disease

Nina C. & John T. Sessions Distinguished Professor
School of Medicine

Expertise:

digestive disease epidemiology, diverticulosis, microscopic colitis, inflammatory bowel disease, colorectal cancer


Elizabeth Sasser

ebsasser@email.unc.edu
Teaching Assistant Professor
Department of Public Policy

Expertise:

environmental policy, energy


Maria Savasta-Kennedy

mskenned@email.unc.edu
Director
UNC Law Externship Program

Clinical Professor
School of Law

Expertise:

social and environmental justice, exploring regulatory and market responses to pollution control and climate change


Cynthia Schauer

schauer@unc.edu
Professor Emerita
Department of Chemistry

Expertise:

inorganic, energy, computational chemistry, energy storage


Alberto Scotti

ascotti@unc.edu
Adjunct Research Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

teaching, environmental fluid mechanics, oceanography


Antonia Sebastian

asebastian@unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

urban hydrology, natural hazards, flood risk, coastal resilience, climate adaptation


Albert Segars

al.segars@unc.edu
PNC Distinguished Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship
Kenan-Flagler Business School

Expertise:

technology management, new media, strategic planning for new technology, design for sustainability, and financial and operational metrics of new technology, how firms create effective innovation, invention and proof-of-concept processes for the design of products and services


Harvey Seim

harvey_seim@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

ocean observing systems, turbulence and mixing processes, internal hydraulics, estuarine, subtidal and tidal dynamics, shelf dynamics, high-frequency acoustics, boundary-layer meteorology, marine spatial planning


Alecia Septer

asepter@email.unc.edu
Director of Equity & Inclusion
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Associate Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

research, microbiology, genetics/genomics, molecular biology


Marc Serre

marc_serre@unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

geostatistical theory to estimate water quality across the groundwater and surface waters, modeling, exposure, disease, risk mapping, GIS


Maria Servedio

servedio@email.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

speciation and evolution of premating isolation, sexual selection and evolution of mate choice, learning and cultural evolution, evolution of behavior, behavioral ecology, evolutionary genetics


Elizabeth Shank

eshank@unc.edu
Principal Investigator
Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Expertise:

microbes, hosts, metabolite production, cellular heterogeneity, soil bacteria, genetics, ecology


Cindy Shea

cpshea@fac.unc.edu
Sustainability Director
UNC Institute for the Environment's Sustainable Carolina

Expertise:

sustainability, sustainable policies, practices, curricula, LEED, Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, AASHE STARS, Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education Sustainability Tracking Assessment and Rating System, Renewable Energy Special Projects Committee, RESPC, carbon neutrality, water neutrality, zero waste, green office


Bland Simpson

bsimpson@email.unc.edu
Kenan Distinguished Professor
Department of English and Comparative Literature

Expertise:

nature writing, North Carolina


Gavin Smith

gavin_smith@unc.edu
Principal Investigator
Coastal Resilience Center of Excellence

Expertise:

hazard mitigation, planning for post-disaster recovery and climate change adaptation, land use, environmental planning, coastal resilience


Richard Smith

rls@email.unc.edu
Director
Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute

Mark L. Reed III Distinguished Professor
Department of Statistics and Operations Research

Professor
Department of Biostatistics

Expertise:

environmental statistics, biostatistics, spatial and time series modeling of environmental pollutants, health effects of atmospheric pollution, statistics of global climate change, extreme values in insurance and finance


Sandy Smith-Nonini

scsmith@email.unc.edu
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology

Expertise:

energy and inequality in late-capitalism, political ecology and sustainability, social movements, politics of health and medicine, labor, Latin America


Mark Sobsey

mark_sobsey@unc.edu
Professor (Retired, Part-Time)
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

environmental health/public health microbiology, water-sanitation-hygiene


Keith Sockman

kws@unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

courtship effort and mate-choice, control of the timing of reproduction, reproductive effort, life-history trade-offs in songbirds