Skip to main content
two people working in a lab

About our Experts

The Carolina environmental expert listing consists of all researchers at UNC-Chapel Hill engaged in educational, research and/or community engagement activities related to environmental science and studies. They collectively make up the interdisciplinary community of environmental scholars on campus, providing a group to which students, faculty, administrators and outside organizations can turn to for expertise in environmental education, research and/or community engagement. Learn more about Carolina’s Environmental Programs.

Submit an Expert

Keyword Search

Megan F. Plenge

mfplenge@unc.edu
Teaching Associate Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

geoscience, student self-efficacy, instructional practices


Danielle Purifoy

danielle.purifoy@unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

black geographies, environmental justice, uneven development, U.S. South


Cynthia Radding

radding@email.unc.edu
Professor of History
Department of History

Gussenhoven Distinguished Professor of Latin American Studies
Department of History

Expertise:

Latin American colonial history with focus on the intersections between environmental and ethnographic history


Julia Rager

jrager@unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

air pollution, bioinformatics, dose-response modeling, genomics, epigenomics, high-throughput exposure and toxicity screening of chemicals, mixtures modeling, modeling of biological pathways, systems biology, risk assessment, PFAS, wildfire smoke


Arcot Rajasekar

rajasekar@unc.edu
Professor
School of Information and Library Science

Expertise:

data grids, digital libraries, persistent archives and artificial intelligence


Johnny Randall

jrandall@unc.edu
Adjunct Faculty
Environment, Ecology and Energy Program

Director of Conservation Programs
North Carolina Botanical Garden

Expertise:

conservation biology, restoration ecology


Peter Redfield

redfield@unc.edu
Professor Emeritus
Department Of Anthropology

Expertise:

anthropology of science, technology, and medicine, humanitarianism and human rights, colonial history, ethics, nongovernmental organizations and transnational experts, Europe, French Guiana, Uganda, South Africa, ecology


Cynthia Register

cynthia.register@facilities.unc.edu
Executive Director of Engineering and Construction
Energy Management

Expertise:

energy management, facilities, water management


José Rial

jose_rial@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Earth, Marine, and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

computer modeling of environmental systems, theoretical geophysics/climatology, seismic monitoring, energy resources, geology and geopolitics of fossil fuels, energy depletion and global climate change


David Richardson

david.richardson@unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Epidemiology

Expertise:

occupational, environmental, radiation, injury epidemiology


Erin Riggs

riggs@sog.unc.edu
Executive Director
Environmental Finance Center

Expertise:

drinking water, environment, pollution, sewer, waste, wastewater, water, water infrastructure


Ron Rindfuss

ron_rindfuss@unc.edu
Research Professor
Department of Sociology

Expertise:

social demography, marriage, and family, trends and variations in fertility in the US and Asia, family and family change in the US and Asia, population, the environment


Diego Riveros-Iregui

diegori@unc.edu
Galapagos Science Center Advisory Board
Member

Faculty
Institute for the Study of the Americas

Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

research, teaching, service, ecohydrology, watershed hydrology, ecosystem ecology, biogeochemistry, land-atmosphere interactions, tropical hydrology, climate, land use/land cover change


Antonio Rodriguez

abrodrig@email.unc.edu
Department Associate Chair
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Morehead City Field Site Director
UNC Institute for the Environment

Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

coastal geology with emphasis on environmental response to sea-level rise, climate change, and land-use change in decadal, centennial, and millennial time scales, sedimentology, ecogeomorphology


Johanna Rosman

jrosman@unc.edu
Associate Professor
Institute of Marine Sciences

Expertise:

environmental fluid mechanics, shallow water physical oceanography, physical-biological interactions in marine systems


Siddhartha Roy

sidroy@unc.edu
Environmental Engineer and Research Associate
The Water Institute at UNC

Expertise:

chemistry, treatment, corrosion and infrastructure of drinking water, public health, contamination, WASH, citizen science surveillance, bio-kinetic modeling, environmental justice


Laura Ruel

lruel@unc.edu
Associate Professor
Hussman School of Journalism and Media

Expertise:

design, user experience, behavior and cognitive processes in the age of interactive media, U.S. energy use


Troy D. Sadler

tsadler@unc.edu
Thomas James Distinguished Professor of Experiential Learning
School of Education

Expertise:

climate literacy


Eunice Sahle

eunice@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of African, African American, and Diaspora Studies

Expertise:

environmental policies, movements in Africa


Aaron Salzberg

salzbergaa@unc.edu
Director
The Water Institute at UNC

Don and Jennifer Holzworth Distinguished Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

drinking water, waste water technology, operational hydrology, the water-energy-food nexus, transboundary water and conflict, international policy/negotiations