Skip to main content
two people working in a lab

About our Experts

The Carolina environmental expert listing consists of all researchers at UNC-Chapel Hill engaged in educational, research and/or community engagement activities related to environmental science and studies. They collectively make up the interdisciplinary community of environmental scholars on campus, providing a group to which students, faculty, administrators and outside organizations can turn to for expertise in environmental education, research and/or community engagement. Learn more about Carolina’s Environmental Programs.

Submit an Expert

Keyword Search

Wei Mei

wmei@email.unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

research, teaching, tropical cyclones, climate


Benjamin Meier

meierb@email.unc.edu
Professor
Public Policy

Expertise:

international law, public policy, global health, water governance, water policy


Michael Meredith

Michael_Meredith@kenan-flagler.unc.edu
Clinical Professor of Management and Corporate Communication
Kenan-Flagler Business School

Expertise:

communication, corporate social responsibility, e-business, social media, sales, leadership, go-to-market strategy


Gerald Meyer

gjmeyer@email.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Chemistry

Expertise:

synthetic chemistry, spectroscopy, electrochemistry


Laura Milko

laura_milko@med.unc.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Genetics

Expertise:

clinical genomics, amphibians, reptiles, conservation, genome sequencing, genes


Alexander Miller

ajmm@email.unc.edu
Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Chemistry

Professor
Department of Chemistry

Expertise:

energy catalysis, synthetic organometallic chemistry, metal-ligand cooperation


Cass Miller

casey_miller@unc.edu
Adjunct Professor
Department of Applied Physical Sciences

Okun Distinguished Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

movement of mass, momentum and energy in natural, engineered and organismic systems, groundwater hydrology


Charles Mitchell

mitchell@bio.unc.edu
Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

research, teaching, service, ecology


Jeffrey Mittelstadt

Jeffrey_Mittelstadt@kenan-flagler.unc.edu
Executive Director
Ackerman Center for Excellence in Sustainability

Professor of the Practice of Strategy and Entrepreneurship
Kenan-Flagler Business School

Expertise:

sustainable enterprise, corporate social responsibility, entrepreneurship, social entrepreneurship, strategy, sustainability


Jonas Monast

jmonast@email.unc.edu
Director
Center on Climate, Energy, Environment & Economics

Associate Professor
School of Law

C. Boyden Gray Distinguished Fellow
School of Law

Expertise:

interaction of federal and state energy policies, aligning energy and environmental policy goals, regulatory options for reducing greenhouse gas emissions


Aaron Moody

aaronm@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Geography and Environment

Expertise:

biogeography, ecosystem ecology, remote sensing, spatial analysis, GIS, socio-environmental systems, biological conservation, diversity, system sustainability, forested and island ecosystems


Jill Moore

moore@sog.unc.edu
Associate Professor of Public Law and Government
School of Government

Expertise:

communicable disease control, environmental health, confidentiality, health departments, public health law, smoking regulation, immunizations


Laura Moore

laura.moore@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Earth, Marine and Environmental Sciences

Expertise:

large-scale geologic and modern evolution of coastal environments, ecomorphodynamic interactions in coastal systems, barrier island evolution in response to sea level rise, geomorphic state change in coastal environments, the effects of changing wave climate on patterns of erosion and accretion, the impacts of coral reef decline on coastal morphology


Timothy Moran

tmoran@email.unc.edu
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics

Expertise:

allergy, pediatrics, asthma, inflammation, immune cells


Glenn Morrison

glenn.morrison@unc.edu
Professor
Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering

Expertise:

dermal uptake of indoor pollutants, ozone surface chemistry, building forensics, sensor development, pollutant movement in buildings, aerosol transport of SVOCs, exposure implications of smog reactions with human surfaces and hair and related


Peggy Mullin

Peggy@unc.edu
Research Technician
Carolina Drone Lab

Expertise:

drones, coastal, marsh, marine, ecology, restoration, remote sensing, fire, limnology, water quality


Brian Naess

naess@unc.edu
GIS Analyst and Lecturer
UNC Institute for the Environment

Expertise:

internships, GIS, coral, coral reefs, study abroad, air quality, databases, python, programmer, lecturer


Punita Nagpal

punita@email.unc.edu
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Biology

Expertise:

research, outreach, plant cell biology, developmental biology


Terry Noah

terry_noah@med.unc.edu
Jacob A. Lohr Distinguished Professor
Department of Pediatrics

Expertise:

effects of common respiratory viruses on airway mucosal cells, and on the impact of environmental exposures on anti-virus host defenses, effects of nutritional factors and obesity on virus infections, pathophysiology of acute inhalational injuries, effects of air pollutants on respiratory viral infections


Seth Noar

noar@unc.edu
James Howard and Hallie McLean Parker Distinguished Professor
Hussman School of Journalism and Media

Expertise:

health communication, particularly how to harness traditional and new media to promote healthy behavioral changes among individuals and communities, HIV/AIDS media campaigns, cancer prevention