During this four day teacher institute, 8th -12th grade science teachers explored and compared several unique coastal ecosystems through inquiry-based, hands-on activities, evaluating human impacts on these systems alongside scientists and expert environmental educators. Content and activities are aligned with the NC Essential Standards for 8th Grade Science, Earth/Environmental Science and AP Environmental Science.

Curriculum & Lesson Plans

Online Map Resources

Presentations

At Water’s Edge Goals
Sarah Yelton & Megan Rodgers, UNC Institute for the Environment

Groundwater in North Carolina Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3
Amy Keyworth, NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources

NC Coastal Federation Introduction
Rachel Bisesi, NC Coastal Federation

Useful Links

Contacts

UNC Institute for the Environment, Center for Public Engagement with Science
Sarah Yelton, Environmental Education & Citizen Science Program Manager
(919) 966-0895 | sarah.yelton@unc.edu

Megan Rodgers, Environmental Research Assistant
(919) 966-7238 | merodgers@unc.edu

Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership
Kelsey Ellis, Communications and Outreach Specialist
(919) 707-8743 | kelsey.ellis@apnep.org

NC Coastal Federation
Rachel Bisesi, Coastal Education Coordinator
(252) 393-8185 | rachelb@nccoast.org

NC Coastal Reserve and National Estuarine Research Reserve
Lori Davis, Education Coordinator
(252) 838-0883 | lori.c.davis@ncdenr.gov

NC Division of Water Resources
Lauren Daniel, North Carolina Project WET/Stream Watch Coordinator
(919) 707-9009 | lauren.daniel@ncdenr.gov

North Carolina Sea Grant
Terri Kirby Hathaway, Marine Education Specialist
(919) 475-5486 | terrikh@csi.northcarolina.edu