Our Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion
The Institute for the Environment embraces the University’s commitment to diversity as a critical element of academic excellence. We also support the vision of the Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs to build and sustain an inclusive campus community and to foster a welcoming climate that values and respects all members of the University community.


 

Uma Shankar

Research Associate
ushankar@unc.edu
(919) 441-9202

Michelle Snyder

Environmental Modeler
michellesnyder@unc.edu
(919) 843-7561

Kevin Talgo

Research Associate
talgo@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-1395

Alejandro Valencia

Research Associate
valencia@unc.edu
(919) 962-9752

Steve Wall

Policy Research Associate
swall@email.unc.edu
(919) 445-0240

Sonya Watson

Grants Manager
spwatson@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-1339

Robert Weaver

Accounting Technician
rweaver@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-3114

Gary Wein

Lecturer
gwein@email.unc.edu
(828) 787-1712

Rachel Wilfert

Research Associate
rachel.wilfert@unc.edu
(919) 966-4085

Emily Williams

Director of Communications
emilywilliams@unc.edu
(919) 962-0965

Sarah W. Workman

Associate Director, Highlands Biological Station
swworkman@wcu.edu
(828) 526-2602

Aijun Xiu

Research Specialist
aijun@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-2064

Dongmei Yang

Research Associate
dyang@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-0791

Sarah Yelton

Environmental Education Coordinator
sarah.yelton@unc.edu
(919) 966-0895