Our Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion
The Institute for the Environment embraces the University’s commitment to diversity as a critical element of academic excellence. We also support the vision of the Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs to build and sustain an inclusive campus community and to foster a welcoming climate that values and respects all members of the University community.


 

Liz Adams

Research Associate
lizadams@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-0518

Corey Adams

Internship Coordinator, Outer Banks Field Site
eadams@csi.northcarolina.edu

Zac Adelman

Research Associate
zac@unc.edu
(919) 962-8510

Richard N. L. (Pete) Andrews

Faculty Fellow, Institute for the Environment; Professor Emeritus, Department of Public Policy
pete.andrews@unc.edu
(919) 843-3385

Sarav Arunachalam

Research Associate Professor
sarav@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-2126

B.H. Baek

Research Associate
bbaek@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-2224

Lawrence E. Band

Director, Institute for the Environment
lband@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-6026

Frank Binkowski

Research Professor
frank_binkowski@unc.edu
(919) 966-2231

Denene Blackwood

Field Site Assistant, Morehead City Field Site; Research Analyst, Institute of Marine Sciences
adb@med.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841

Jared Bowden

Research Assistant Professor
jhbowden@unc.edu
(919) 843-6360

Jo Ellen Brandmeyer

Research Associate
joellenb@unc.edu
(919) 966-2172

Myra Walters Burke

Business Manager
myrawaltersburke@unc.edu
(919) 843-8593

Gregory W. Characklis

Director, Center for Watershed Science and Management; Professor, Environmental Sciences and Engineering
charack@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5545

Jason Ching

Senior Research Fellow
jching@email.unc.edu

Kathleen Clabby

Event Coordinator
kclabby@unc.edu
(919) 843-5699

Carlie Coats

Senior Software Engineer
cjcoats@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5951

Jim Costa

Director, Highlands Field Site
costa@email.wcu.edu
(828) 526-2602

Doug Crawford-Brown

Director Emeritus, Institute for the Environment
d.crawford-brown@cspconsulting.org
011-44-1223-324028

Lindsay Dubbs

Associate Director, Outer Banks Field Site; Research Assistant Professor
dubbs@email.unc.edu
(252) 475-3663

Jon Duncan

Research Assistant Professor
jmduncan@unc.edu

Steve Fegley

Research Associate Professor
srfegley@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841 ext. 222

Susan Fratazzi

Business Services Coordinator
fratazzi@unc.edu
(919) 843-8556

Greg Gangi

Associate Director for Education; Clinical Assistant Professor
ggangi@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-9805

Andrew George

Community Engagement Research Associate; Lecturer, Curriculum for the Environment and Ecology
andrewg@unc.edu
(919) 966-7839

Neasha Graves

Community Outreach and Education Manager
neasha_graves@unc.edu
(919) 966-3746

Kathleen M. Gray

Director, Environmental Resource Program; Associate Director for Outreach and Public Service and Lecturer
kgray@unc.edu
(919) 966-9799

Dana Brown Haine

K-12 Science Education Manager
dhaine@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5735

Adel Hanna

Director, Center for Environmental Modeling for Policy Development; Research Professor
ahanna@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-1352

Regina Hill

Director of Development
regina_hill@unc.edu
(919) 843-2323

Megan Hoert Hughes

Research Associate
meganhughes@unc.edu
(919) 966-2463

Rich Kamens

Director, Thailand Field Site
kamens@unc.edu
(919) 966-5452

Andrew Keeler

Director, Outer Banks Field Site
agkeeler@csi.northcarolina.edu
(252) 475-3663

Jordan D. Kern

Research Assistant Professor
jdkern@live.unc.edu

Margaret Ledyard-Marks

Proposal Manager and Technical Editor
mledyard@unc.edu
(919) 966-2069

Lee Leidy

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Outer Banks Field Site
hanjul@email.unc.edu

T. William Lester

Faculty Fellow
twlester@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-3512

Laurence Lin

Post Doctoral Research Associate
hrlauren@email.unc.edu

David McNelis

Research Professor Emeritus
mcnelis@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9923

Chowdhury “Monir” Moniruzzaman

Post Doctoral Research Associate
moniruz@unc.edu
(919) 445-8318

Dawn Morgan

Administrative Support Associate
dlmorgan@email.unc.edu
(919) 843-5738

Brian Naess

IT Research Developer and Lecturer
naess@unc.edu
(919) 966-9925

Rachel Noble

Director, Morehead City Field Site
rtnoble@email.unc.edu
(252) 726-6841, ext.150

Mohammad Omary

Research Associate
omary@unc.edu
(951) 789-6284

Grant Parkins

Watershed Education Coordinator
parkins@unc.edu
(919) 966-9802

Tony Reevy

Senior Associate Director and Lecturer
reevy@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9927

Megan Rodgers

Environmental Research Assistant
merodgers@unc.edu
(919) 966-7238

Karl “Rusty” Rogers

Facilities Manager
rustyr@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-9922

Johanna H. Rosman

Associate Director, Morehead City Field Site
jrosman@unc.edu
(252) 726-6841

David Salvesen

Director, Sustainable Triangle Field Site; Research Associate
salvesen@unc.edu
(919) 966-2134